About this OCP

We acknowledge the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia and their continuing connection to the land, sea and community. We pay our respects to them and their cultures and to Elders past, present and emerging.

This work is available from the Cancer Council website.

First published in January 2020.

ISBN: 978 1 76096 154 1

Cancer Council Victoria and Department of Health Victoria 2021, Optimal care pathway for people with cancer of unknown primary, Cancer Council Victoria, Melbourne.

Enquiries about this publication can be sent to optimalcare.pathways@cancervic.org.au.

Our thanks to the following health professionals, consumer representatives, stakeholders and organisations consulted in the development of this optimal care pathway.

Assoc. Prof. Linda Mileshkin (Chair), Medical Oncologist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre Dr Amey Aurangabadkar, Radiologist, Illawarra Radiology Group

Prof. David Ball, Radiation Oncologist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Prof. David Bowtell, Genomics Specialist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Ms Cindy Bryant, Consumer representative and nurse

Ms Julie Callaghan, System Improvement Program Lead, Cancer Institute NSW

Dr Tina Chen, Medical and Scientific Advisor, Cancer Institute NSW

Prof. Jonathan Clark, Head and Neck Surgeon, Chris O’Brien Lifehouse

Prof. Katherine Clark, Palliative Care Physician, North Sydney Local Health District

Prof. David Currow, Chief Cancer Officer NSW and Chief Executive Officer Cancer Institute NSW Prof. Anthony Gill, Pathologist, Sydney University Dr Julie Gottlieb, General Practitioner and Senior Medical Adviser at the Health Care Complaints Commission

Ms Laura Holliday, Project Officer Medical and Scientific Advice Team, Cancer Institute NSW

Dr Laura Kirsten, Clinical Psychologist, NBMLHD Psychology, Nepean Cancer Care Centre

Ms Nina Klug, Project Officer System Improvement, Cancer Institute NSW Assoc. Prof. Sally Lord, Epidemiologist, The University of Notre Dame, Australia Dr Catherine Mason, Psychiatrist, Crown Princess Mary Cancer Centre,

Nepean Cancer Care Centre, University of Sydney Dr Siobhan O’Neill, Medical Oncologist,

Prince of Wales Hospital

Dr Richard Osborne, Medical Oncologist, Hervey Bay Hospital

Prof. Penny Schofield, Behavioural Scientist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Prof. Martin Tattersall, Medical Oncologist, The University of Sydney

Prof. Robert (Bob) Thomas, Surgeon, The University of Melbourne

Dr Richard Tothill, Genomics Specialist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Assoc. Prof. Claire Vajdic, Epidemiologist, UNSW Sydney

Prof. Desmond Yip, Medical Oncologist, The Canberra Hospital and Australian National University

Governance – project steering committee representation

Cancer Australia Cancer Council Victoria

Cancer Institute New South Wales Consumer representatives

Department of Health and Human Services, Cancer Strategy and Development

Monash University

North Eastern Melbourne Integrated Cancer Service

Olivia Newton-John Cancer Wellness & Research Centre

Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre The University of Melbourne Wyong Hospital

Allied Health Professions Australia

Australian Society of Gynaecological Oncologists Australian Association of

Nuclear Medicine Specialists Australian and New Zealand Gynaecological Oncology Group Australian and New Zealand Society of Palliative Care

Australian Chapter of Palliative Medicine, Royal Australasian College of Physicians Australian College of Nursing

Australian Institute of Radiography Australian Medical Association

Interventional Radiology Society of Australasia Medical Oncology Group of Australia

Royal Australasian College of Physicians Royal Australasian College of Surgeons Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists

Royal Australian College of General Practitioners

Other stakeholders consulted to provide feedback including Cancer Action Victoria, a number of health services and integrated cancer services.