About this OCP

We acknowledge the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia and their continuing connection to the land, sea and community. We pay our respects to them and their cultures and to Elders past, present and emerging.

This work is available from the Cancer Council website.

First published in July 2015. Updated April 2016. This edition published in June 2021.

ISBN: 978 1 76096 158 9

Cancer Council Victoria and Department of Health 2021, Optimal care pathway for men with prostate cancer, 2nd edn, Cancer Council Victoria, Melbourne.

Enquiries about this publication can be sent to optimalcare.pathways@cancervic.org.au.

Our thanks to the following health professionals, consumer representatives, stakeholders and organisations consulted in developing this optimal care pathway.

Associate Professor Niall Corcoran (Chair), Surgeon, The Royal Melbourne Hospital, Frankston Hospital, The University of Melbourne and the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre

Associate Professor Ian Collins, Medical Oncologist, SouthWest Regional Cancer Centre, Warrnambool and Deakin University

Professor Ian Davis, Medical Oncologist, Eastern Health and Monash University

Professor Michael Hofman, Nuclear Medicine Physician, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Dr Daryl Lim Joon, Radiation Oncologist, Olivia Newton-John Cancer Wellness and Research Centre

Associate Professor Phillip Parente, Medical Oncologist, Eastern Health and Epworth HealthCare

Associate Professor David Pook, Medical Oncologist, Monash Health and Cabrini Health

Professor Shomik Sengupta, Urologist, Eastern Health and Monash University

Professor Robert Thomas, Special Advisor on Health, Professorial Fellow, The University of Melbourne

Associate Professor Justin Tse, General Practitioner, The University of Melbourne

Professor Scott Williams, Radiation Oncologist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Ms Julia Brancato, Project Coordinator, Optimal Care Pathways, Cancer Council Victoria

Alexandra Philpott, Project Manager –Optimal Care Pathways

Dr Niall Corcoran, Urologist, The Royal Melbourne and Frankston hospitals, The University of Melbourne, Australian Prostate Cancer Research Centre Epworth (Chair)

Ms Jenni Bourke, Occupational Therapist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Ms Elise Davies, Manager Cancer Strategy and Development, Department of Health, Victoria

Ms Dianne Jones, Urology Nurse, West Gippsland Healthcare Group

Dr Daryl Lim Joon, Radiation Oncologist, Austin Health

Mr Paul Kearns, Urologist, Barwon Health and Portland District Hospital

Dr David Pook, Medical Oncologist, Cabrini Hospital and Monash Cancer Centre

Mr John Preston, consumer representative

Ms Elena Schiena, Social Worker, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Mr Shomik Sengupta, Urologist, Austin Health

Professor Robert Thomas, Chief Advisor on Cancer, Department of Health, Victoria

Associate Professor Justin Tse, Director Medical Student Education, St Vincent’s Clinical School, The University of Melbourne; General Practitioner

Associate Professor Scott Williams, Radiation Oncologist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, The University of Melbourne

Dr Addie Wootten, Clinical Psychologist, Director of Clinical and Allied Health Research, Australian Prostate Cancer Research Centre Epworth; Department of Urology, The Royal Melbourne Hospital

Advance Care Planning Australia

Allied Health Professions Australia

Australasian Association of Nuclear Medicine Specialists

Australasian Chapter of Palliative Medicine, Royal Australia College of Physicians

Australian and New Zealand Society of Neuroradiology

Australian and New Zealand Society of Palliative Care

Australian Cancer Survivorship Centre

Australian College of Nursing

Australian Medical Association

Australian Society of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy

Cancer Nurses Society of Australia

Clinical Oncology Society of Australia

Interventional Radiology Society of Australasia

Medical Oncology Group of Australia

Movember Foundation

Oncology Social Workers Australia and New Zealand

Prostate Cancer Foundation of Australia

Royal Australasian College of Physicians

Royal Australasian College of Surgeons

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists

Royal Australian College of General Practitioners

Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia
Urological Society of Australia and New Zealand

Alfred Health

Cancer Australia

Cancer Council Victoria, Strategy and Support Division

Cancer Institute New South Wales

Concord Repatriation General Hospital New South Wales

Consumer representative

Department of Health Victoria, Commissioning and System Improvement Division, Cancer Unit

National Cancer Expert Reference Group

Olivia Newton-John Cancer Wellness and Research Centre

St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne

Other stakeholders consulted to provide feedback include relevant Cancer Council committees and networks, Integrated Cancer Services, Primary Health Networks and several health services.

The multidisciplinary team may include the following members:

  • care coordinator (as determined by multidisciplinary team members)*
  • medical oncologist*
  • nurse (with appropriate expertise)*
  • pathologist*
  • radiation oncologist*
  • radiologist/imaging specialist*
  • urologist*
  • Aboriginal health practitioner, Indigenous liaison officer or remote general practitioner
  • clinical trials coordinator
  • continence practitioner
  • dietitian
  • endocrinologist
  • exercise physiologist
  • fertility specialist
  • general practitioner
  • geriatrician
  • nuclear medicine physician
  • occupational therapist
  • palliative care specialist
  • pharmacist
  • physiotherapist
  • psychiatrist
  • psychologist
  • social worker
  • spiritual/pastoral care.

* Denotes core members. Core members of the multidisciplinary team are expected to attend most multidisciplinary team meetings either in person or remotely.