About this OCP

We acknowledge the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia and their continuing connection to the land, sea and community. We pay our respects to them and their cultures and to Elders past, present and emerging.

This work is available from the Leukaemia Foundation website and from the Cancer Council website.

This edition published in October 2021. ISBN: 978-0-6453299-2-6

Leukaemia Foundation and Australian Government Department of Health 2021, Optimal care pathway for people with multiple myeloma, 1st edn, Leukaemia Foundation of Australia.

Enquiries about this publication can be sent to bloodcancerpartnerships@leukaemia.org.au.

Our thanks to the following health professionals, consumer representatives, stakeholders and organisations consulted in developing this optimal care pathway.

Professor Hang Quach (Chair), Haematologist, University of Melbourne, St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne

Dr Bradley Augustson, Haematologist, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital

Dr John Bashford, Haematologist and Medical Oncologist, Icon Group

Hayley Beer, Myeloma Australia and Myeloma Clinical Nurse Consultant, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Nella Combe, Myeloma Clinical Nurse Consultant, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Myeloma Australia

Associate Professor Rosemary Harrup, Haematologist, Royal Hobart Hospital

Tracy King, Myeloma Clinical Nurse Consultant and Clinical Research Fellow, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Cancer Nursing Research Unit, University of Sydney

Dr Silvia Ling, Haematologist, Liverpool Hospital

Dr Michael Ng, Radiation Oncologist, Genesis Care, St Vincent’s Hospital

Professor Jennifer Philip, Palliative Care Specialist, St Vincent’s Hospital, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Royal Melbourne Hospital, University of Melbourne

Steve Roach, Chief Executive Officer, Myeloma Australia

Professor Andrew Spencer, Haematologist and Bone Marrow Transplant Physician, Alfred Hospital, Professor of Haematology, Monash University

Dr Justin Tse, General Practitioner, St Vincent’s Clinical School, Associate Professor, University of Melbourne

Karen Wilde, Physiotherapist (Retired), Consumer Representative

Dr Angelina Yong, Haematologist,

Royal Adelaide Hospital and Lyell McEwin Hospital

Medical & Scientific Advisory Group (MSAG) members

Dr Nicholas Murphy, Haematologist, Royal Hobart Hospital and Clinical Senior Lecturer, University of Tasmania

Professor Simon Harrison, Haematologist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre and Royal Melbourne Hospital, Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre, Honorary Clinical Professor, Melbourne University

Australian Capital Territory Health Allied Health Professions Australia

Australian and New Zealand Children’s Haematology/Oncology Group

Australia and New Zealand Transplant and Cellular Therapies

Australasian Association of Nuclear Medicine Specialists

Australasian College of Emergency Medicine Australasian Leukaemia & Lymphoma Group

Australian and New Zealand Society of Palliative Care

Australian College of Nursing

Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine Australian Government Department of

Health and Ageing

Australian Medical Association Beyond Blue

Cancer Australia

Cancer Council of Australia

Cancer Council Victoria Cancer Institute NSW

Cancer Nurses Society of Australia Canteen

Clinical Oncology Society of Australia

Haematology Society of Australia & New Zealand

Launceston General Hospital Leukaemia Foundation Lymphoma Australia

Medical Oncology Group of Australia Myeloma Australia

Northern Territory Department of Health Palliative Care Australia

Private Cancer Physicians of Australia Queensland Health

Rare Cancers Australia Redkite

Royal Australasian College of Physicians

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists

Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia South Australia Health

Tasmanian Department of Health and Human Services

The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners

Victorian Department of Health

Western Australia Cancer and Palliative Care Network

Associate Professor Peter Mollee (Chair), Haematologist Princess Alexandra Hospital, Australasian Leukaemia and Lymphoma Group, Associate Professor, University of Queensland

Dr Caroline M Bateman, Paediatric Haematologist and Oncologist, Cancer Centre for Children, The Children’s Hospital at Westmead

Julia Brancato, Optimal Care Pathways Project Coordinator, Cancer Council Victoria

Dr Peter Diamond, Project Secretariat, Leukaemia Foundation

Associate Professor Michael Dickinson, Haematologist, Lymphoma Australia, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Royal

Melbourne Hospital, University of Melbourne

Associate Professor Anoop Enjeti, Haematologist, John Hunter Hospital, Senior Staff Haematologist, Calvary Mater Hospital, Conjoint Associate Professor, University of Newcastle

Emily Forrest, Project Secretariat, Leukaemia Foundation

Fiona Haigh, Project Secretariat, Leukaemia Foundation

Deborah Henderson, Consumer Representative

Professor Tim Hughes, Haematologist,

South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI), University of Adelaide, Royal Adelaide Hospital

Professor Steven Lane, Haematologist, Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital, QIMR

Berghofer Medical Research Institute, University of Queensland

Caroline Nehill, Director National Cancer Control, Cancer Australia

Professor H Miles Prince AM, Haematologist, Epworth Healthcare and Haematologist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre

Professor Hang Quach, Haematologist, University of Melbourne, St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne

Catriona Rafael, Project Secretariat, Leukaemia Foundation

Professor Andrew Roberts AM, Haematologist and Bone Marrow Transplant Physician,

Royal Melbourne Hospital, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, University of Melbourne, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute

Professor John Seymour AM, Haematologist, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Royal Melbourne Hospital, University of Melbourne

Delaine Smith, Chief Executive Officer, Australasian Leukaemia and Lymphoma Group

Professor Judith Trotman, Haematologist, Concord Repatriation General Hospital, University of Sydney

Megan Varlow, Director Cancer Control Policy, Cancer Council Australia

Dr Nicole Wong Doo, Haematologist, Concord Repatriation and General Hospital, University of Sydney

Our thanks also to the Blood Cancer Taskforce, which recommended the development of optimal care pathways for all the major blood cancer subtypes as part of the National Strategic Action Plan for Blood Cancer (2020). The National Action Plan was commissioned by the Federal Government

and developed by the Blood Cancer Taskforce, with support from the Leukaemia Foundation.